Skip to main content

The NCLHD Accreditation process involves three key steps: the completion of the Health Department Self-Assessment Instrument (HDSAI), a Site Visit and adjudication by the NCLHD Accreditation Board. The resources in this section provide details on each step of this process.

To satisfy accreditation requirements, health departments must meet a minimum number of activities with each standard and substandard, as defined in 10A NCAC 38B

Accreditation scoring Requirements

Standard Minimum
Total Number
of Activities
Assessment 26 29
Policy Development 23 26
Assurance 34 38
Facilities and Administrative Services 24 27
Governance/Board of Health 24 27

Accreditation Documents

The Health Department Self-Assessment materials along with all of the documents included in the 90-day notification letter can be found on this page. View Accreditation Documents.

Accreditation Process Flowchart

Accreditation is a four-year process. The Accreditation Process Flowchart outlines each step of the Accreditation process and includes links to key resources. View Flowchart.

Accreditation Schedule and Contact List

Learn when each health department goes through their accreditation cycle and find contact information. View Schedule and Contact List.

Vocabulary and Abbreviations

The vocabulary document contains definitions for common terms used in the Accreditation Program as well as commonly used abbreviations. View Vocabulary.

New to Accreditation

Anyone who is new to the NCLHD Accreditation process can visit this page to learn how to get started. View New to Accreditation.